Last Updated : 18th September 2019 10:51 GMT 10:04+

A- A A+

Overview of the department

Department of Physics was started in the year 2000 and currently there are five Associate Professors and no temporary faculty.

The contribution of motivated and well qualified teaching faculty generated a number of successful students, who are now working in various public and private sectors. The department consistently produces students who are qualified in admission entrance of reputed institutions all over the country.

In addition to active classroom teachings, the faculty members are actively involved in research work. Three teachers have PhD degree while one teacher is actively pursuing his research work. Presently there is one BRNS sponsored project in the department and one student is pursuing PhD under the guidance of one of the faculty members of the department.

The department received on an average about 100 numbers of application for admission to BSc in Physics in the first semester. However, the ideal capacity with an existing facilities like classroom and Laboratory is much less than the total number of the applicant. Still the number of students in the first semester exceed the intake capacity of the department due to high demand from the public. It is our wish and hope that we can admit more number of students once we move to the new college campus at Durtlang.

Physicists are trained to solve a wide range of problems. That's why graduates have gone on to explore careers in such diverse areas such as:

  • Telecommunications
  • Microelectronics
  • Nuclear Power and Instrumentation
  • Cryogenics
  • Astronomy
  • Geophysics Medical Physics
  • Materials Science
  • Computing
  • Teaching
  • Business
  • Finance and Management


For Students

Detail Syllabus, Study Materials and other useful materials can be found at Download Section.

Mission Statement

Govt. Zirtiri Residential Science College has been established by the government to be the first science college with a view to cater to the need for undergraduate-level science education in Mizoram. The college has endeavoured to execute and disseminate quality education in various fields of science and technology. 

Goals & Objectives

The principle goal is to cater to the need for higher learning in the college level in various fields of science education in Mizoram. It is envisaged that the knowledge and skills gained from the institution, with the degree obtained, would facilitate students for future employment opportunities. The main objectives of the college are:

  1. To be at par with esteemed colleges outside the state in terms of teaching-learning process and, also in terms of research output.
  2. To continuously strive to provide a platform for more choices and opportunities, particularly for students who cannot afford to pursue higher studies elsewhere.

Go to top

Copyright © Reserved ® 2018
Government Zirtiri Residential Science College
Accredited B Grade (CGPA 2.75) by NAAC in 2016
The only Model Science College in Mizoram by RUSA