MEETING OF HEADS OF DEPARTMENTS

DATE & TIME : 3rd September, 11:00 am
PLACE : Professors' Common Room

Members Present:

- 1. Prof. B. Zoliana, Principal
- 2. Dr. R. Lalengmawia, Botany
- 3. Dr. K.B. Singh, Chemistry
- 4. Mr. L.B. Singh, Mathematics
- 5. Mr. M.I. Singh, Physics
- 6. Mrs. Lalrinngheti Ralte, Home Science
- 7. Mrs. H. Lalnunsangi, Zoology
- 8. Dr. Fanai Lalsangluaii, Biochemistry
- 9. Dr. C. Zoramthara, Geology
- 10. Dr. Ricky Lalhmangaihzuala, Electronics
- 11. Mr. C. Lalrinawma, Computer Science
- 12. Mrs. Lalmalsawmi Chhangte, English

The Principal welcomed all the members present at the meeting despite the various problems besetting us with the prevailing pandemic.

I. REPORTS:

- a) The Principal reported that the college has furnished the necessary information to the concerned department regarding the NEET Exam and the available seats we can accommodate. However, till date there has been no response and it may be interpreted as a sign that they will not be utilizing our college.
- b) The chairman informed the committee about the students enrolment this year. Some departments have increased in number. Due to lack of infrastructure, we could not accommodate many applicants.
- c) The Principal reported that he went to check on our new campus the other day and found that some miscreants broke into our building. Locks were damaged but fortunately nothing seems to be missing.

II. RESOLUTIONS:

1. Final Semester Examination for 2nd and 4th Semester:

The Mizoram University has decided that Final Semester exam be conducted for 2nd & 4th Semsesters carrying a total of 25 marks in each paper so that marks may be submitted to University till December 2020. The meeting resolved **when and how** this examination may be conducted in the following manner:

When:

i) 2nd Semester: 14th September, 2020 – 18th September, 2020 ii) 4th Semester: 21st September, 2020 – 25th September, 2020.

Dr. Ricky Lalhmangaihzuala and Mr. C. Lalrinawma have been assigned to prepare the time table.

How:

Mark Distribution is as follows:

Multiple Choice Questions — Marks 5 (10qsx1/2=5) Two questions from each unit

Short Answer Questions —Marks 10 (5qs to attempt x2=10) Option to be given from 10

Questions. Two questions from each unit

Descriptive Type Questions - Marks10 (2qs to attempt x5=10) Option to be given from 5

Questions. One question from each unit

Exam duration: 2 hours

Representatives for the upcoming Exam for each Department:

The following representatives were appointed for each department. Head of each Department will be responsible and should supervise for each exam:

Botany
 Mrs. Lalremruati Hmar
 Zoology
 Dr. Lalzahawmi Chenkual
 Geology
 Dr. C. Lalremruatfela
 Chemistry
 Dr. Samuel Lallianrawna

5. Biochemistry : Mrs K. Zosangpuii

6. Home Science : Mrs. Maria. Lalhmingmawii 7. Physics : Dr. Lawrence Zonunmawia

8. Mathematics : Mrs Parijat Kumar 9. English : Mrs Lalrinpuii Rokhum

10. Electronics : Mr. Reginald H. Vanlalchaka

11. Environmental Science: Mr. Lalnunthara and Mr Lalrinmawia

Mode of Exam: Online mode of examination will be used. WhatsApp Group to be made for each class. Students should send their answers using PDF format and should also mark the page number carefully. Answer script need not be printed out. Teachers are expected to find convenient means to correct answer papers. Results of 2nd semester exam to be submitted on or before 28th September. Results of 4th semester exam to be submitted on or before 5th October, 2020 to the Exam Department.

2. Online Classes

As per University Notification to start online classes for 1st, 3rd and 5th Semester students, the meeting resolved that each teacher/department will prepare at least 50% of the Course Teaching/Study materials on or before 25th September 2020 and submit the same to each Head of Department. The Head of Department will submit the notes on or before 28th September 2020 to the concerned authority. The concerned authority to be notified later.

Dr. R. Lalengmawia has been assigned to prepare the time table for online classes.

3. <u>Teachers for History of Science for 3rd Semester students:</u>

It was once again resolved that History of Science Subject for 3rd Semester to be taught by the following departments:

- 1. Botany Department
- 2. Biochemistry Department
- 3. Electronics Department

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks from the Chairman.

Sd/-(LALMALSAWMI CHHANGTE) Minutes Recorder Sd/-(PROF. B. ZOLIANA) Principal